Connect with us


Canada confirms Two Nigerians have tested positive for Omicron Variant



 COVID:  Canada confirms Two Nigerians have tested positive for Omicron Variant

Canada has confirmed the detection of two circumstances of Omicron, a extremely transmissible variant of the coronavirus, well being officers stated in an announcement.


The 2 circumstances have been traced to 2 individuals who travelled to Nigeria.


“At present, the province of Ontario has confirmed two circumstances of the Omicron variant of Covid-19 in Ottawa, each of which had been reported in people with latest journey from Nigeria. Ottawa Public Well being is conducting case and speak to administration and the sufferers are in isolation,” an announcement by the Ontario authorities stated.



This comes two days after Canada rushed to seal its borders for international travellers from seven Southern African nations in an try to forestall the unfold of the newly recognized Covid-19 variant, also referred to as B.1.1.529 variant. These seven nations are South Africa, Eswatini, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, and Namibia.


The ban of entry of travellers into Canada will likely be in place until 31 January 2022.


Labelled as a “Variant of Concern” by the World Well being Organisation (WHO), Omicron has despatched well being consultants, scientists, and governments scrambling to determine the menace posed by Omicron, and whether or not it’s going to surpass that of its dominant predecessor Delta, which was extremely transmissible and answerable for lethal waves in lots of components of the world.


However WHO additionally famous that it’s not but clear whether or not Omicron is extra transmissible than different variants, or if it may well trigger extra extreme illness.

ALSO READ:  Bigg Boss Tamil 5 Elimination 7th January 2022 Full Episode Written Update 14th Week Nomination List!


“In latest weeks, infections have elevated steeply, coinciding with the detection of B.1.1.529 variant. The primary recognized confirmed B.1.1.529 an infection was from a specimen collected on 9 November 2021,” the WHO stated in its assertion confirming the detection of the variant.


Instances of the Omicron variant have now been detected in 13 nations; Australia, Belgium, Botswana, Britain, Denmark, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, France, Canada, and South Africa.

Continue Reading